Dearest Reader:

Well, this is different. Here are three German/English side-by-side translations of German pop sensation Andreas Bourani’s most popular singles. I am contractionally obligated to mention that you should buy them on Amazon today!

–The Writers (Translators)

***

 “Auf Uns” —————————————— “On Us”

Wer friert uns diesen Moment ein

kann es besser nicht sein

denkt an die Tage die hinter uns liegen

wie lange wir Freude und Tränen schon teilen hier geht jener für jed’n durchs Feuer

im Regend steh’n wir niemals allein

und so lange unsere Herzen uns steuern

will das auch immer so sein

Ein Hoch auf das was vor und liegt

das ist das Beste für uns gibt

ein Hoch auf das was uns vereint

auf diese Zeit

Ein Hoch auf uns (uns)

auf dieses Leben

auf den Moment

der immer bleibt

ein Hoch auf uns (uns)

auf jetzt und ewig

auf einen Tag Unendlichkeit

Wir haben Flügel, schwören uns ewige Treue

vergolden uns diesen Tag (one love)

Ein Leben lang ohne Reue

vom ersten Schritt bis ins Grab

CHOR

Ein Feuerwerk aus Endorphinen

ein Feuerwerk zieht durch die Nacht

so viele Lichter sind geblieben

ein Augenblick, der uns unsterblich macht (unsterblich macht)

(oo-woo, oo-oo-oo-oo, oo-woo, oo-oo-oo)

CHOR

Ein Feuerwerk aus Endorphinen

ein Feuerwerk zieht durch die Nacht

so viele Lichter sind geblieben

Whoever freezes us in this moment

it can’t be better than this

think back on the days that lie behind us

how long we’ve already shared joys and tears here everyone goes through hell and high water for each other

we never once stand alone in the rain

and so long as our hearts guide us

it will always be that way

A high on what lays before us

that it is the best thing for us

a high on what unites us

on this very time

A high on us (us)

on this life

on the moment

that always remains

A high on us (us)

on now and forever

On the day of unendingness

We have wings, I swear to you in eternal faith we plate this day in gold (one love)

a long life free of regret

from the first step until the grave

(CHORUS)

A firework of endorphins

a firework moves through the night

so many lights have remained

a blink-of-the-eye that makes us immortal (makes us immortal)

(oo-woo, oo-oo-oo-oo, oo-woo, oo-oo-oo)

(CHORUS)

A firework of endorphins

a firework moves through the night

so many lights have remained

“Alles Nur in Meinem Kopf” ——————— “Everything’s only in my Head”

Ich kann in drei Sekunden die Welt erobern

Den Himmel stürmen und in mir wohnen.

In zwei Sekunden Frieden stiften,

Liebe machen, und Feind vergiften.

In ‘ner Sekunde Schlösser bauen

Zwei Tage einzieh’n und alles kaputt hau’n.

Alles Geld der Welt verbrenn’

und heut’ die Zukunft kenn’.

Und das ist alles nur in meinem Kopf.

Und das ist alles nur in meinem Kopf.

Ich wär’ gern länger dort geblieben,

doch die Gedanken kommen und fliegen.

Alles nur in meinem Kopf

Und das ist alles nur in meinem Kopf.

Wir sind für zwei Sekunden Ewigkeit unsichtbar

Ich stopp’ die Zeit

Kann in Sekunden Fliegen lernen

Und weiß wie’s sein kann, nie zu sterben.

Die Welt durch deine Augen seh’n.

Augen zu und durch Wände geh’n.

Und das ist alles nur in meinem Kopf.

Und das ist alles nur in meinem Kopf.

Ich wär’ gern länger dort geblieben,

doch die Gedanken kommen und fliegen.

Alles nur in meinem Kopf

Und das ist alles nur in meinem Kopf.

Und du bist wie ich, ich bin wie du

Wir alle sind aus Fantasie

Wir sind aus Staub und Fantasie

Wir sind aus Staub und Fantasie

Und das ist alles nur in meinem Kopf.

Und das ist alles nur in meinem Kopf.

Ich wär’ gern länger dort geblieben,

doch die Gedanken kommen und fliegen.

Alles nur in meinem Kopf

Und das ist alles nur in meinem Kopf.

Alles nur in meinem Kopf

In meinem Kopf

Ich wär’ gern länger dort geblieben,

doch die Gedanken kommen und fliegen

I can conquer the world in three seconds

Storm heaven and dwell inside myself

In two seconds establish peace,

Create love, and poison villainy.

In one second, build castles

Two days, settle in and tear down.

All the money in the world burn up

And know the future today.

And that’s all only in my head.

And that’s all only in my head.

I would’ve like to stay there longer,

But the thoughts come and go.

Everything’s only in my head

And that’s all only in my head.

We are eternal for two seconds

Inperceptible

I stop time

I can learn to fly in seconds

And know what it’s like, never to die

See the world through your eyes

Eyes closed and pass through walls.

And that’s all only in my head.

And that’s all only in my head.

I would’ve like to stay there longer,

But the thoughts come and go.

Everything’s only in my head

And that’s all only in my head.

And you are like me, I’m like you

We’re all made of fantasy

We’re all made of dust and fantasy

We’re all made of dust and fantasy

And that’s all only in my head.

And that’s all only in my head.

I would’ve like to stay there longer,

But the thoughts come and go.

Everything’s only in my head

And that’s all only in my head.

Everything’s only in my head

In my head

I would’ve like to stay there longer,

But the thoughts come and go.

“Eisberg” —————————————–“Iceberg”

Ich zeig dir nur die weiße Spitze.

Die gute Seite rein und klar.

Der ganze Dreck auf dem ich sitze

ist für dein Auge unsichtbar.

Bin wie ein Eisberg, hart und unverletzbar.

Ich treib’ alleine auf dem Meer.

Nehm jede Welle ohne Mühe.

Aber mein kaltes Herz schlägt schwer.

Und tief unterm Eis fühl ich mich so wie du.

Ich steuer irgendwo da draußen auf die Lichter zu.

Ich will glänzen.

Ich will scheinen.

Und ich tu als tät nichts weh.

Würd dir gerne alles zeigen.

Bin ein Eisberg auf der See.

Vielleicht wird’s Morgen für mich regnen.

Und irgendwann ergeb ich mich.

Wenn wir uns je wieder begegnen.

Dann zeig ich dir mein wahres ich.

Und tief unterm Eis fühlst du dich so wie ich.

Ich steuer irgendwo da draußen immer Richtung Licht.

Ich will glänzen.

Ich will Scheinen.

Und ich tu als tät nichts weh.

Würd dir gerne alles zeigen.

Bin ein Eisberg auf der See.

Ich werd mich aus dem Wasser heben.

Und dich mit nach oben ziehen.

Wir werden überm Eismeer schweben.

Und zum ersten mal verstehen.

Oh Oh Oh …

Ich will glänzen.

Ich will scheinen.

Und ich tu als tät nichts weh.

Würd dir gerne alles zeigen.

Bin ein Eisberg auf der See.

Ich will glänzen.

Ich will scheinen.

Und ich tu als tät nichts weh.

Würd dir gerne alles zeigen.

Bin ein Eisberg auf der See.

I only show you the white peak

The good sides pure and clear

The whole pile of mud that I sit on

is invisible in your eyes.

I’m like an iceberg, hard and un-damageable.

I float alone on the see.

I take every wave without an effort,

But my cold heart beats heavily.

And deep under the ice I feel just like you.

I guide myself somewhere out there by the lights.

I want to glitter.

I want to shine.

And act as though nothing could hurt me.

I would happily show you everything

I’m an iceberg on the sea.

Maybe tomorrow it’ll rain for me.

And sometime I’ll reveal myself.

If we ever encounter each other again,

Then I’ll show you my true self.

And deep under the ice, you feel just like me.

I guide myself somewhere out there always in the direction of the light.

I want to glitter.

I want to shine.

And act as though nothing could hurt me.

I would happily show you everything

I’m an iceberg on the sea.

I will heave myself out from beneath the water.

And pull you up above with me.

We will sway above the ice sea.

And, for the first time, understand.

I want to glitter.

I want to shine.

And act as though nothing could hurt me.

I would happily show you everything

I’m an iceberg on the sea.

I want to glitter.

I want to shine.

And act as though nothing could hurt me.

I would happily show you everything

I’m an iceberg on the sea.

